American Urological Association - Meet the 2008 – 2009 Mentors


Home About Us Membership AUA Leadership Program Leadership Mentors 2008 2009 Mentors

Meet the 2008 – 2009 Mentors

Richard K. Babayan, MD

Dr. Babayan is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology at Boston University School of Medicine and Chief of Urology at Boston Medical Center, where he directs the Prostate Center and GU Robotic Surgery. Dr. Babayan received his medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine and did his Urology Residency at Boston University Medical Center. He was an AUA Research Scholar at MIT and Boston University from 1980-1982. Dr. Babayan is a member of the Urological Survey Editorial Committee for the Journal of Urology and an assistant Editor for the Journal of Endourology. He has authored over 100 articles in the urologic literature. Dr. Babayan has been an active member of the both the AUA and the New England Section of the AUA and has served in various leadership positions, including a term as NE Section representative to the AUA Board of Directors. He also sits on the Board of the Massachusetts Association of Practicing Urologists. Dr Babayan received the Distinguished Service Award from the AUA in 2011.

Brendan M. Fox, MD

Brendan M. Fox, MD

Dr. Fox is a senior faculty member and Clinical Professor of Urology at the University of Connecticut Health Center, Division of Urology/Department of Surgery. He served as President of the AUA from 2004 to 2005, AUA Historian from 1997 to 2002 and President of the New England Section of the AUA from 1982 to 1983. He also served on numerous AUA committees and has held various offices in the Connecticut Chapter of the American College of Surgeons and the Hartford County Medical Association. Dr. Fox is the recipient of the Hartford Medical Association's Distinguished Service Medal and the New England Section of the AUA's Joseph B. Dowd Lifetime Achievement Award. He has been a member of the AUA since 1972.

Sushil S. Lacy, MD

Dr. Sushil Lacy is currently Senior Consultant in Surgery (Urology) at University of Nebraska Medical Center. He recently retired after 35 years of Clinical Practice. He received his medical degree from Christian Medical College, Vellore, in India. He completed his general surgery residency and Board certification at King George's Medical College, in Lucknow, India, Vascular Surgery Fellowship at Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina and Urology Residency training at Bowman Gray School of Medicine, Wake Forest University, in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. His main Clinical interest has been in Pediatric Urology and research interests in Urinary tract infections and incontinence. He has served on the American Urological Association Board of Directors, Urology Care Foundation Development Council and several AUA committees and also American Association of Clinical Urologists Board of Directors. He has held the office of President of the American Association of Clinical Urologists, South Central Section of the AUA and Nebraska Urological Association. He is Past President of the American Urological Association and has been a member of AUA since 1971.

Paul F. Schellhammer, MD

Dr. Schellhammer is a Professor of Urology, a partner in Devine-Tidewater Urology, Ltd. He is internationally recognized for his expertise in the treatment of prostate cancer. He joined the EVMS faculty in 1974 and served as chairman of the Department of Urology from early 1990 until July of 2000. Dr. Schellhammer is President-Elect of the AUA Board of Directors, the AUA Awards Committee and the AUA Program Committee, in addition to having served on numerous other committees. Dr. Schellhammer has been a member of the AUA since 1977.

Steven M. Schlossberg, MD

Dr. Schlossberg is the former Treasurer of the American Urological Association's Board of Directors. He is also a Vice President and Chief Medical Officer for Impact Advisors, a consulting firm specializing in Healthcare Information Technology. Previously, he was the Chief Medical Information Officer for the Yale New Haven Health System and the Yale School of Medicine. Prior to joining Yale, he was Professor of Urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School, and Vice President, Clinical Operations for Sentara Medical Group in Norfolk Virginia. He graduated from Cornell Medical School and trained at New York Hospital and Eastern Virginia Medical School. Dr. Schlossberg received the Outstanding Academic Achievement Award from the College of William and Mary Executive Master of Business Administration Program in 1998. After training with Drs. Devine and Horton in Norfolk, he spent 25 years practicing reconstructive Urology. Dr. Schlossberg has recently completed serving as Chair of Health Policy for the AUA. He has also served the AUA as the first Chair of the Practice Management Committee, Vice Chair of Health Policy and as AUA alternate to the AMA Relative Update Committee. He has served the Mid-Atlantic Section of the AUA as a Board member and representative to the Health Policy Council. In addition, he currently serves as a mentor for the AUA Leadership Program. Dr. Schlossberg has been a member of the AUA since 1987.

J. Brantley Thrasher, MD, FACS

J. Brantley Thrasher, MD, FACS
President-elect, 5/11/16 – 5/16/17

J. Brantley Thrasher, MD, FACS is Professor and the William L. Valk Chair, Department of Urology and the Co-Director of Operative Services at the University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, Kansas. He completed his medical degree at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, South Carolina, an internship at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington D.C., and his urology residency at Fitzsimons Army Medical Center in Aurora, Colorado. He subsequently completed a urologic oncology fellowship at Duke University Medical Center. He served for three years as Program Director for the Urology Residency Program at Madigan Army Medical Center in Tacoma, Washington, and was then appointed to his present position in 1998.

Dr. Thrasher has served as President of the Society of Urology Chairpersons and Program Directors, the Society of Urologic Oncology, and as a member of the Residency Review Committee for Urology. He has served as Vice-President of the American Board of Urology and is a member of the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons. He is a Diplomat of the American Board of Urology, a member of the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons and a member of the Clinical Society of Genitourinary Surgeons. 

He served as the South Central Section Representative to the AUA Board of Directors, as a member of the South Central Section Health Policy Committee, and is a former president of the South Central Section. He was previously the Chair of the Public Media, Practice Guidelines and Prostate Cancer Guidelines (vice-chair) Committees, a mentor for the AUA Leadership Program, a member of the Best Practice Policy Panel on Cryotherapy for the Treatment of Prostate Cancer, the Chair of the Prostate Cancer Literature Review Panel and the Audio-Visual Committee of the AUA. In 2015, he was awarded the Distinguished Service Award from the AUA, for 15 years of service to academic and organized urology. He is an associate editor for the book, “The 5-Minute Urology Consult;” Editor for Practical Reviews in Urology, and an Editorial Consultant for Urology Times. He has published more than 200 manuscripts, book chapters and monographs in the area of urologic oncology. He has been a member of the AUA since 1994.