American Urological Association - Meet the 2010 – 2011 Mentors


Home About Us Membership AUA Leadership Program Leadership Mentors 2010 – 2011 Mentors

Meet the 2010 – 2011 Mentors

Richard K. Babayan, MD

Dr. Babayan is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology at Boston University School of Medicine and Chief of Urology at Boston Medical Center, where he directs the Prostate Center and GU Robotic Surgery. Dr. Babayan received his medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine and did his Urology Residency at Boston University Medical Center. He was an AUA Research Scholar at MIT and Boston University from 1980-1982. Dr. Babayan is a member of the Urological Survey Editorial Committee for the Journal of Urology and an assistant Editor for the Journal of Endourology. He has authored over 100 articles in the urologic literature. Dr. Babayan has been an active member of the both the AUA and the New England Section of the AUA and has served in various leadership positions, including a term as NE Section representative to the AUA Board of Directors. He also sits on the Board of the Massachusetts Association of Practicing Urologists. Dr Babayan received the Distinguished Service Award from the AUA in 2011.

William W. Bohnert, MD William W. Bohnert, MD

Dr. Bohnert was in private practice since 1970 and was a senior member of Arizona Urology Specialists in Phoenix, AZ until retirement from clinical practice in July 2014. Dr. Bohnert received his MD degree in 1965 and completed his general surgery and urologic residency in 1970 at Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis, Indiana. He also served in the Indiana National Guard and the U.S. Army Reserve. Dr. Bohnert previously served on the AUA Board of Directors as the Western Section Representative from 1999 to 2003. He has served on the Practice Guidelines Committee and Guidelines Oversight Committee and is a mentor in the AUA leadership Program. Dr. Bohnert is the immediate Past President of the AUA, and has served on numerous committees at the AUA Western Section and as President from 1995-1996. Dr. Bohnert was the recipient of the 2010 Gold Cane Award for devotion to patient care and outstanding contributions to the AUA. He has also been on the Board of UROPAC and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Catholic Healthcare West Arizona. In addition, he has served on committees and boards of local, regional and national urologic and medical societies and foundations for more than three decades. Dr. Bohnert has been a member of the AUA since 1975.

Brendan M. Fox, MD Brendan M. Fox, MD

Dr. Fox is a senior faculty member and Clinical Professor of Urology at the University of Connecticut Health Center, Division of Urology/Department of Surgery. He served as President of the AUA from 2004 to 2005, AUA Historian from 1997 to 2002 and President of the New England Section of the AUA from 1982 to 1983. He also served on numerous AUA committees and has held various offices in the Connecticut Chapter of the American College of Surgeons and the Hartford County Medical Association. Dr. Fox is the recipient of the Hartford Medical Association's Distinguished Service Medal and the New England Section of the AUA's Joseph B. Dowd Lifetime Achievement Award. He has been a member of the AUA since 1972.

Sushil S. Lacy, MD

Dr. Sushil Lacy is currently Senior Consultant in Surgery (Urology) at University of Nebraska Medical Center. He recently retired after 35 years of Clinical Practice. He received his medical degree from Christian Medical College, Vellore, in India. He completed his general surgery residency and Board certification at King George's Medical College, in Lucknow, India, Vascular Surgery Fellowship at Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina and Urology Residency training at Bowman Gray School of Medicine, Wake Forest University, in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. His main Clinical interest has been in Pediatric Urology and research interests in Urinary tract infections and incontinence. He has served on the American Urological Association Board of Directors, Urology Care Foundation Development Council and several AUA committees and also American Association of Clinical Urologists Board of Directors. He has held the office of President of the American Association of Clinical Urologists, South Central Section of the AUA and Nebraska Urological Association. He is Past President of the American Urological Association and has been a member of AUA since 1971.

Raymond J. Leveillee, MD Raymond J. Leveillee, MD

Dr. Leveillee is an associate professor of clinical urology and serves as chief for the division of endourology and laparoscopy at the University of Miami School of Medicine. He received his medical degree at Brown University. He completed his postgraduate work at Rhode Island Hospital and endourology fellowship at the University of Minnesota.

Leadership roles include: serving as the director of the urology and endourology division; serving as mentor for an endourology fellow; sitting on the University Board of Governors as well as the Executive, Operating Room and Contracts & Negotiations Committees at the University of Miami. Dr. Leveillee has twice served as the scientific chairman for the Florida Urologic Society's Annual Meeting, as well as serving on the executive committee for the Society.

Dr. Leveillee's clinical interests include laparoscopic surgery, endourology, stone treatment and minimally invasive techniques for urologic disease. His research interests revolve around ablation techniques for renal cancer, new technology and instrumentation for stone disease, robotics and laparoscopic reconstruction.

AUA Committees: Practice Guidelines Committee

Steven M. Schlossberg, MD

Dr. Schlossberg is the current Treasurer of the American Urological Association's Board of Directors. He is also a Vice President and Chief Medical Officer for Impact Advisors, a consulting firm specializing in Healthcare Information Technology. Previously, he was the Chief Medical Information Officer for the Yale New Haven Health System and the Yale School of Medicine. Prior to joining Yale, he was Professor of Urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School, and Vice President, Clinical Operations for Sentara Medical Group in Norfolk Virginia. He graduated from Cornell Medical School and trained at New York Hospital and Eastern Virginia Medical School. Dr. Schlossberg received the Outstanding Academic Achievement Award from the College of William and Mary Executive Master of Business Administration Program in 1998. After training with Drs. Devine and Horton in Norfolk, he spent 25 years practicing reconstructive Urology. Dr. Schlossberg has recently completed serving as Chair of Health Policy for the AUA. He has also served the AUA as the first Chair of the Practice Management Committee, Vice Chair of Health Policy and as AUA alternate to the AMA Relative Update Committee. He has served the Mid-Atlantic Section of the AUA as a Board member and representative to the Health Policy Council. In addition, he currently serves as a mentor for the AUA Leadership Program. Dr. Schlossberg has been a member of the AUA since 1987.