ABOUT US > AUA Governance > Awards & Scholarships > Award Winners > Previous Honorees

Awards Archive

Back to Awards List

The AUA Residents Committee Teaching Award

This award is awarded annually to recognize an outstanding urology educator or program director who has dedicated a portion of his/her career to teaching residents. This award also serves to recognize an individual who influences residents to pursue a career in academic medicine.

James O. Peabody, MD

James O. Peabody, MD
2013 AUA Residents Committee Teaching Awardee

"Dr. Peabody is a brilliant academician. He is a gifted urologic surgeon. He has demonstrated profound service to Urology. However, his greatest gift is his dedication to teaching residents and fellows.

He takes the intimidation and potential anxiety out of learning operative skills and transforms the experience into one that maximizes his students potential to learn.

He is a true role-model for how to conduct oneself both professionally and personally."

Dr. Ariella Friedman
Chief Resident in Urology
Urology Residency, 2009-2013, Henry Ford Health System

"He has been the most influential person in my training. He has spent countless hours exercising impossible and endless patience teaching to all of the Henry Ford trainees, many who have gone on to run very busy robotic training programs.

Every trainee that has trained under him has expressed nothing but gratitude and praise for the invaluable tips, advice, time and patience that Dr. Peabody has generously given to them."

Dr. Daniel Eun
Associate Professor of Urology, Director of Robotic Urologic Surgery Fellowship Program, Director of Temple University Robotic Surgery Training Center, Temple University School of Medicine
Urology Residency 2002-2008, Henry Ford Health System

Recipients of the AUA Residents Committee Teaching Award are:


2012 - Eric Mark Wallen, MD

2011 - W. Scott McDougal, MD

2010 - Robert C. Davis, MD

2009 - J. Christian Winters, MD

2008 - Glenn Preminger, MD

2007 - Elspeth McDougall, MD


Term of Use
Site Map