ABOUT US > AUA Governance > Awards & Scholarships > Scholarships and Programs > AUA Leadership Program > 2006 – 2007 Mentors

Meet the 2006 – 2007 Mentors

Roger R. Dmochowski, MD

Roger R. Dmochowski, MD is professor at the Department of Urology at Vanderbilt University in Nashville. He is also clinical assistant professor in surgery at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda, MD. He serves as chair of the AUA Practice Guidelines Committee; he is the former chair of the AUA Public Media Relations Committee; and serves on numerous other AUA committees. He is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a member of the American Urological Association and the International Continence Society. Dr. Dmochowski has been granted the Zimskind Award from the Urodynamics Society for his accomplishment in clinical treatment for incontinence. Dr. Dmochowski has been a member of the AUA since 1992.

Brendan M. Fox, MD

Brendan M. Fox, MD is a senior faculty member and clinical professor of urology at the University of Connecticut Health Center, division of urology/department of surgery. He has served as president of the national AUA and the New England Section of the AUA, as AUA historian from 1997-2002, is on numerous AUA committees and has held various offices in the Connecticut Chapter, American College of Surgeons and the Hartford County Medical Association. Dr. Fox is the recipient of the Hartford Medical Association's Distinguished Service Medal and the New England Section of the AUA's Joseph B. Dowd Lifetime Achievement Award. He has been a member of the AUA since 1972.

Sushil S. Lacy, MD

Dr. Lacy received has been in private practice since 1979 at Private Practice of Urology, P.C in Lincoln, NE and has been the clinical professor of surgery at the University of Nebraska at Omaha since 1995. He received his medical degree from Christian Medical College at Madras University in Vellore, India in 1952 and completed his urology training at Bowman Gray School of Medicine at Wake Forest University and North Carolina Baptist Hospital from 1965 to 1970. Dr. Lacy has held the office of president of the American Association of Clinical Urologists, the South Central Section of the AUA and the Nebraska Urological Association. He served on the AUA Health Policy Council as well as the Policy Review and Young Urologists committees. Dr. Lacy has been a member of the AUA since 1973.

Anthony J. Schaeffer, MD

Dr. Schaeffer has been professor and chairman of the Department of Urology at Northwestern University since 1990. He is chair of the AUA Research Council and former chair of the AUA Program Committee, as well as a member of The Journal of Urology Research Board. He was awarded a National Institutes of Health Merit Award Grant to continue research on urinary tract infections. He is currently Chair of the National Institutes of Health Multi-Site Collaborative Research Project on male chronic pelvic pain syndrome (prostatitis) and contributes regularly to international panels to establish guidelines for management of urinary tract infections. Dr. Schaeffer has been a member of the AUA since 1980.

Paul F. Schellhammer, MD

Dr. Schellhammer is a Professor of Urology, a partner in Devine-Tidewater Urology, Ltd. He is internationally recognized for his expertise in the treatment of prostate cancer. He joined the EVMS faculty in 1974 and served as chairman of the Department of Urology from early 1990 until July of 2000. Dr. Schellhammer is President-Elect of the AUA Board of Directors, the AUA Awards Committee and the AUA Program Committee, in addition to having served on numerous other committees. Dr. Schellhammer has been a member of the AUA since 1977.

Steven M. Schlossberg, MD

Dr. Schlossberg is professor of urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School; managing partner, Urology of Virginia and vice president, Medical Informatics Sentara Healthcare in Norfolk, Virginia. Dr. Schlossberg was an AUA Research Scholar in Adult and Pediatric Reconstructive Urology in the Department of Urology at Eastern Virginia Graduate School of Medicine. He serves as the chair of the AUA Practice Management Committee. Dr. Schlossberg received the following awards: American Urological Association Research Scholar; Reconstructive Fellowship, Department of Urology, Eastern Virginia Graduate School of Medicine; Peter J. Gringass Award, Plastic Surgery Research Council; Outstanding Academic Achievement Award, College of William and Mary; and the Executive Masters of Business Administrative Award. Dr. Schlossberg has been a member of the AUA since 1987.


Term of Use

© 2017 American Urological Association Education and Research Inc. All Rights Reserved.