ABOUT US > AUA Governance > Awards & Scholarships > Scholarships and Programs > AUA Leadership Program > 2010 – 2011 Mentors

Meet the 2010 – 2011 Mentors

Richard K. Babayan, MD

Dr. Babayan is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology at Boston University School of Medicine and Chief of Urology at Boston Medical Center, where he directs the Prostate Center and GU Robotic Surgery. Dr. Babayan received his medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine and did his Urology Residency at Boston University Medical Center. He was an AUA Research Scholar at MIT and Boston University from 1980-1982. Dr. Babayan is a member of the Urological Survey Editorial Committee for the Journal of Urology and an assistant Editor for the Journal of Endourology. He has authored over 100 articles in the urologic literature. Dr. Babayan has been an active member of the both the AUA and the New England Section of the AUA and has served on various committees. He also sits on the Board of the Massachusetts Association of Practicing Urologists.

William W. Bohnert, MD

Dr. Bohnert has been in private practice in Phoenix, Arizona since 1970. He is a senior associate of Urology Associates Ltd., a division of Arizona Urology Specialists, PLLC. He is a graduate of Indiana University School of Medicine and completed his general surgery and urology residency at Indiana University Medical Center. He has served on the AUA Board of Directors and multiple AUA committees. He currently is on the AUA Guidelines Committee and secretary of UROPAC. He has held the office of President of the Western Section of the AUA, the Arizona Urologic Society, and the Phoenix Urologic Society. He has served as a board member and chairman of the board of Catholic Healthcare West in Arizona. Dr. Bohnert has been a member of the AUA since 1975.

Brendan M. Fox, MD

Dr. Fox is a senior faculty member and Clinical Professor of Urology at the University of Connecticut Health Center, Division of Urology/Department of Surgery. He served as President of the AUA from 2004 to 2005, AUA Historian from 1997 to 2002 and President of the New England Section of the AUA from 1982 to 1983. He also served on numerous AUA committees and has held various offices in the Connecticut Chapter of the American College of Surgeons and the Hartford County Medical Association. Dr. Fox is the recipient of the Hartford Medical Association's Distinguished Service Medal and the New England Section of the AUA's Joseph B. Dowd Lifetime Achievement Award. He has been a member of the AUA since 1972.

Sushil S. Lacy, MD

Dr. Lacy has been on the faculty at the University of Nebraska Medical School since 1970. He is presently Clinical Professor of Urology and is in private practice in Lincoln, NE with six other urologists. He received his medical degree from Christian Medical College, Vellore, India, completed his post-graduate general surgery residency in Lucknow, India, his vascular surgery fellowship at Duke University and his urology residency training at Bowman Gray School of Medicine at Wake Forest University. He has served on the AUA Board of Directors and several AUA committees. He presently serves on the Urology Care Foundation Development Council and American Association of Clinical Urologists (AACU) Board of Directors. He has held the office of President of the American Association of Clinical Urologists, South Central Section of the AUA and Nebraska Urological Association (NUA). Dr. Lacy has been a member of the AUA since 1973.

Raymond J. Leveillee, MD

Dr. Ross is the Clarence C. Saelhof Professor Emeritus in the Department of Urology of the University of Illinois at Chicago where he served as Head of the Department from 1989 to 2006. Prior to joining the university he was Chairman of Urology at Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center. Dr. Ross has concentrated his academic interests in the area of male reproduction and microsurgery and has been published extensively in these areas. He serves as an editorial consultant to The Journal of Urology®, Urology, Fertility and Sterility and the Journal of Andrology. He has had numerous leadership roles in urology, having served as President of the Chicago and Illinois State Urological Societies, North Central Section, AUA, and President of the American Urological Association. Dr. Ross has been a member of the AUA since 1979.

Steven M. Schlossberg, MD

Dr. Schlossberg is the Chief Medical Information Officer for Yale School of Medicine and Yale New Haven Health System. He is also Assistant Dean, Clinical Informatics, Yale School of Medicine. Previously, he was a Professor of Urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School, Vice President of Clinical Operations for Sentara Medical Group and Vice President of Medical Informatics for Sentara Healthcare. Between 2007 and 2011, he was appointed to serve on the Information Technology Taskforce to the AMA Board of Directors. Currently, he is Chair of Health Policy for the American Urologic Association and was recently chosen to be the next Treasurer for the AUA. He completed his undergraduate at Franklin and Marshall College. He received his M.D. from Cornell Medical College and completed his urology residency at Cornell. He then completed a Fellowship in Adult and Pediatric Reconstructive Urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School with Drs. Devine and Horton. In 1998, he completed the Executive MBA program at the College of William and Mary. He is a practicing urologist with an expertise in male and female genitourinary reconstruction.


Term of Use

© 2016 American Urological Association Education and Research Inc. All Rights Reserved.