ADVOCACY > Gallagher Health Policy Scholar

Contact Us


1000 Corporate Blvd.
Linthicum, MD 21090


Gallagher Health Policy Scholar

Applications for the 2015 – 2016 Gallagher Health Policy Scholar Program will be accepted in fall 2014.

G. James Gallagher

In 2007, the AUA Board of Directors approved the launch of this annual scholar program in honor of former executive director, G. James Gallagher.  The Gallagher Health Policy Scholar Program hopes to attract those urologists who have demonstrated a commitment to or have a keen interest in the field of health policy and who are dedicated to advancing urology’s health policy agenda. 

The past Gallagher Scholars, who are now among the current AUA health policy leaders, share their thoughts on the program.

Current Gallagher Scholar

Timothy David Averch, MD, FACS2014-2015
Timothy David Averch, MD, FACS
Director of Endourology
Pittsburgh, PA

Dr. Averch is professor of urology and director of Endourology at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. He is also director of the UPMC Kidney Stone Center, whose members treat and manage kidney stone disease over the long term. Dr. Averch earned his medical degree from the University of Pittsburgh in 1989. Between 1989 and 1996, he completed surgical and urologic residencies at New York Medical College, and a fellowship in endourology at the Brady Urological Institute of Johns Hopkins Hospital. Before joining with UPMC in 2000, Dr. Averch was assistant professor of urology and director of Endourology at the Medical College of Virginia. His clinical interests include endourology, stone disease, and laparoscopic surgery. Additionally, Dr. Averch currently serves as Vice Chair of the AUA's Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Committee.

Learn more about previous Gallagher Scholars


Term of Use
Site Map