American Urological Association - Holtgrewe Legislative Fellowship Program


Home Advocacy Scholar & Fellowship Programs Holtgrewe Legislative Fellowship Program

Holtgrewe Legislative Fellowship Program

The H. Logan Holtgrewe Legislative Fellowship is a unique program that prepares and educates urology residents and fellows in the legislative aspect of health policy.

The program is open to all AUA residents in their research year, fellows, and first year post-graduates. Applicants will demonstrate a strong interest or aptitude for health policy issues and legislation. If a resident, the Fellow's Resident Director must sign-off on and verify that the Fellow will be available for the travel and time allotted for the program. The deadline to apply has passed.


About H. Logan Holtgrewe

H. Logan Holtgrewe, MD, FACS, has held many leadership positions within urology including the Presidency of the AUA in 1992 and 1993 and President of the American Board of Urology in 1998 and 1999. He served on the AUA Advisory Committee on Urology to the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD and as Chairman on the Economics of the World Health Organization's Consultations on Prostatic Diseases. In addition to his clinical activities within urology, he was instrumental in the creation of the AUA clinical practice guidelines program. Dr. Holtgrewe maintains a special interest in socioeconomic issues of urological health care delivery and served as Chairman of the AUA's Health Policy Council from 1992 – 2001.

2017 Holtgrewe Fellow

Joshua Langston, MD

Joshua Langston, MD

Instructor of Urology, Eastern Virginia Medical School
Norfolk, VA

Dr. Langston is currently an instructor for the Department of Urology at the Eastern Virginia Medical School and recently finished his fellowship in Andrology and Male Reconstructive Urology at the Institute of Urology, University College Hospital in London, England. He did his residency at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill and went to medical school at UT Southwestern Medical School, in Dallas, Texas. Dr. Langston has also participated in the Physician Executive Mentoring Program through the National Health Service England and was a Visiting Scholar to Beijing University Medical School.

2016 Holtgrewe Fellow

Hans C. Arora, MD PhD

Hans C. Arora, MD, PhD

Resident Physician in Urology, Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH

Dr. Arora is currently a resident physician in urology at the Cleveland Clinic in Ohio. He holds a Doctorate of Medicine and a Doctorate of Philosophy from Northwestern University as well as a bachelor's of science degree in chemical engineering from Pennsylvania State University. He currently serves as the chair of the Residents Committee for AUA, the chair of the Resident and Fellow Section of the American Medical Association and sits on the Board of Directors for the American Physician Scientists Association.

2015 Holtgrewe Fellow

Cary W.

Cary W. "CJ" Stimson Jr., MD

Warburton-Jewett Fellow in Urologic Oncology
Baltimore, MD

Dr. Stimson completed his urologic surgery residency at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and his fellowship in urologic oncology at the Johns Hopkins Brady Urological Institute. He holds Doctorate of Medicine and Juris Doctorate degrees from Vanderbilt University, and a Bachelor of Science degree from the College of William and Mary.