EDUCATION > Educational Calendar > Educational Courses

Five Steps to Optimize Payer Reimbursements for Newly Merged Practices

A webinar for urologists and practice managers in the midst of merger or acquisition planning.


December 11, 2013

   
   

Time
3 – 4:30 p.m. Eastern
2 – 3:30 p.m. Central
1 – 2:30 p.m. Mountain
Noon – 1:30 p.m. Pacific

Is your urology practice considering a merger or thinking about the possibility? Perhaps you are presently in the middle of merger negotiations.

If your planning team has not considered the fact that your prospective partners may have better or worse contracted fee schedules for your major payers, the new organization may be at a disadvantage.

This 90-minute presentation will prove to be quite profitable for you as the merger takes shape.

Faculty: Patricia S. Hofstra is a partner in the Chicago-based law firm of Duane Morris LLP. Ms. Hofstra has extensive experience in business transactions involving healthcare entities, medical staff matters, licensure and regulatory matters, managed care contracting, hospital/physician contracting, joint ventures and information technology.

She will be joined on this presentation by Steve Selbst and Regina Vazquez of Healthcents Inc. who serve as regular faculty for the AUA managed care negotiation contract series.

The complete agenda follows:

1. Introduction

  1. Acceleration of merger and acquisition activity in healthcare
  2. Affordable Care Act and Health Exchanges
  3. The whole is greater than the sum of the parts

Super Messenger Model

  1. Data Gathering from each of the merging practices
  2. Normalizing data gathered for analysis

Advanced Data Analysis

  1. Best practices for merging data
  2. Use of exciting new techniques for analysis to maximize reimbursements

Best Practices for Contract Negotiations

  1. Preparation -Data Analysis, SWOT, Assessment Matrix
  2. Negotiations -Proposal letter preparation, iterative negotiations, dealing with road blocks and obstacles, escalation.

Monitoring

  1. Auditing technique to insure accuracy of payments

Key operational language considerations


Five Steps for maximizing fee schedules for newly merged practices:

  1. Put the super messenger model to work to determine the amount to ask for based on a
  2. Weighted average reimbursement assessment
  3. Build compelling payer fee schedule proposals which reflect the value of your merged practice
  4. Build a compelling proposal letter to get the payer’s attention and engage negotiations
  5. Negotiate for a win, win, win (A win for the practice, the payer, and the patient- yes, it can be done

Technical requirements:

Questions? Please email AUA Practice Management at pracman@AUAnet.org.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT
Donate
Contact
Press/Media
Sections
Term of Use
Site Map


ADVERTISEMENT