MYAUA > Newly Elected Members > Honorary


AUA Honorary Membership is reserved for scientists who have achieved outstanding prominence in a field of medicine related to Urology, Officers of the Association, and/or distinguished urologists. Each October, the AUA Immediate Past President nominates individuals for Honorary Membership. The following individuals were elected to 2016 Honorary Membership. View a complete list of Honorary members.

Dennis A. Pessis, MD

Peter C. Albertsen, MD

For exemplary service to both the New England Section and the AUA. And for research that advances urologist’s understanding of prostate cancer, its epidemiology and allows for the pursuit of evidence
based knowledge.

Gopal Badlani, MD

Martin E. Gleave, MD

For efforts in building and leading the Vancouver Prostate Centre (VPC) into an internationally recognized comprehensive and integrated translational cancer research and treatment facility and uniquely integrating many critical components of translational research under one organization.

John H. Lynch, MD

Elspeth M. McDougall, MD

For exemplary service and dedication to the AUA and its entire membership as Chair of the AUA Office of Education.

Peter Robert Carroll, MD, MPH

John J. Mulcahy, MD, PhD, FACS

For teaching urology residents and practitioners the fundamentals and critically important aspects, as well as the fine points of urologic prosthetic surgery.

Gerald H. Jordan, MD

Mariano Sotomayor de Zavaleta, MD

For leadership in advancing urologic education in Mexico through promoting AUA membership and education and solidifying the longstanding partnership between the AUA and Mexican urology.

Manuel Alvarez Zarnowski, MD

Robert S. Waldbaum, MD

For many contributions to the New York Section and to the AUA for service on the AUA Board of Directors as Historian.


Term of Use

© 2017 American Urological Association Education and Research Inc. All Rights Reserved.