RESEARCH > Urology Care Foundation Research Awards > Research Scholar Awards

Research Scholar Awards

Since 1975, the American Urological Association (AUA) has funded research opportunities for and provided support to young men and women who are interested in pursuing careers in urologic research. The Research Scholars Program, initially administered by the American Foundation for Urologic Disease, Inc. (AFUD) from 1987 until 2005, has given assistance to more than 525 early career researchers. Now part of the Urology Care Foundation, the Research Scholars Program continues to thrive, promoting urologic advances through the many program participants who have remained active in academic urology today. These innovative researchers continue to build upon the base of experience and knowledge gained during their research fellowships and contribute to building the field of knowledge in urology research that will lead to new treatments and cures.

2015 Urology Care Foundation Research Scholars Program

2015 Research Scholars Program – NEW FUNDING OPPORTUNITIES!

The competition is underway for the 2015 Urology Care Foundation Research Scholars Program, and the AUA is proud to announce that the program recently established four new endowments! The AUA Western Section and the Society for Urologic Oncology (SUO) each established second endowment funds. The Indian American Urological Association (IAUA) established two funds to support the Indian American Urological Association/Sakti Das, MD Research Scholar Award and the Indian American Urological Association/Kailish Kedia, MD Research Scholar Award.

There will be at least 17 funding opportunities available, including four awards (three 2-year awards and one 1-year award) that are available for research in neurotoxins and other areas related to neurourological conditions of the bladder. These awards are made possible through the generous support of The Allergan Foundation.

The AUA Mid-Atlantic Section, AUA South Central Section, AUA Western Section, and the AUA Southeastern Section will sponsor 2015 Research Scholars.

The Center for Prostate Disease Research will sponsor an investigator working in prostate cancer research. 

The Kidney Cancer Association will support a scholarship for an investigator working in the field of kidney cancer/renal cell carcinoma.

The Urology Care Foundation will also offer an unrestricted one- or two-year award in urology research.

There are three international funding opportunities available! The Joseph Segura Scholarship in Endourology and Stone Management is available in 2015 to domestic and international investigators performing basic, translational or clinical research in urolithiasis, endourology and stone management. Both the IAUA Sakti Das, MD and the Kailish Kedia, MD Research Scholars Awards are also open to international applicants.

Please contact Jessica Ames with any questions.

2015 Research Scholars Program Announcement [pdf]

2015 Research Scholars Program Application Agreement [pdf]

Not an AUA Member yet? Create an AUA ID and begin the application process.

AUA Members can begin the application process.

The deadline for application submission is Thursday, September 4, 2014!

Eligibility Requirements
General Application Instructions
Preparation of Application Materials
Criteria for Review
Reporting Requirements
Award Requirements
Application Checklist
MD or PhD Fellowship


Term of Use
Site Map