Home About Us AUA Governance 2018 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

Each year, the American Urological Association honors the contributions of physician researchers and educators to the field of medicine, the specialty of urology, and the AUA.

Congratulations to the 2018 honorees!

Ramon Guiteras Award

Edward M. Messing, MD
For over 35 years of outstanding contributions to the art and science of urology, specifically, urologic oncology

Hugh Hampton Young Award


Francesco Montorsi, MD
For seminal scientific contributions to the study of urologic oncology and andrology, as well as mentorship and global leadership in academic urology  

Gold Cystoscope Award


E. Jason Abel, MD
For outstanding contributions as a physician-scientist in renal carcinoma research, clinical excellence and education

Lifetime Achievement Award


Pramod C. Sogani, MD
For exemplary service and leadership as AUA President and for teaching and mentoring generations of urologists

Robert C. Flanigan Education Award


Gary J. Faerber, MD
For years of tireless devotion to education and mentorship of residents and faculty, and vision in developing the AUA Residents Bowl

Victor A. Politano Award


Timothy B. Boone, MD, PhD
For excellent clinical research and educational efforts in neurourology and neuroscience, including urodynamics, female pelvic medicine and spinal cord injury

William P. Didusch Art History Award


Erwin W. Rugendorff, MD
For decades of support for the Didusch Center for Urologic History and outstanding writing on the history of medicine and philately

Distinguished Contribution Award


Arthur L. Burnett II, MD, MBA
For outstanding contributions to the fields of prostate cancer, sexual medicine and urologic mentoring

Distinguished Contribution Award


Wayne J. G. Hellstrom, MD
For seminal contributions to andrology in the fields of sexual dysfunction and infertility as well as effective leadership and mentorship in academic urology

Distinguished Contribution Award


Louis R. Kavoussi, MD, MBA
For pioneering contributions to minimally invasive urologic surgery, telemedicine and education

Distinguished Service Award


J. Quentin Clemens, MD
For excellence in neurourology and pelvic reconstructive surgery as well as service as the Data Committee Chair in developing the AUA Quality Registry

Distinguished Service Award


Jeffrey E. Kaufman, MD
For decades of outstanding leadership and service to the Western Section and the AUA Board of Directors and contributions to the importance of Health Policy

Distinguished Service Award


Richard A. Memo, MD
For exemplary service and leadership as AUA Treasurer, and as the inaugural Chairperson of the Urology Care Foundation

Gold-Headed Cane Award


George W. Kaplan, MD
For excellent work in the treatment of children with urologic diseases and mentorship in educating future pediatric urologists

Presidential Citation


Michael S. Cookson, MD, MMHC
For outstanding service in the development of the Oncology Knowledge Assessment Test and as chair of the Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer Guideline

Presidential Citation


Gerald H. Jordan, MD
For decades of innovation in urologic reconstruction and fostering collaboration between the American Board of Urology and AUA

Presidential Citation


Jack W. McAninch, MD
For training and educating generations of urologists in trauma and reconstruction

Presidential Citation


Jessica McCullough
In recognition of 15 years of outstanding administrative service to urology and the AUA

Presidential Citation


Arturo Mendoza-Valdes, MD
In recognition of years of service to the Sociedad Mexicana de Urología and the AUA South Central Section

Presidential Citation

John W. Weigel, MD

John W. Weigel, MD
For over 50 years of educating and mentoring generations of urologists in the military and the University of Kansas



Give Us Your Feedback

We would love to hear your feedback. Please feel free to send us your thoughts, comments and questions to

Join Our Email List!

Sign up to receive information from the American Urological Association!

Stay Informed