Print Article

May 22, 2013
The essential resource for your practice
Volume XXI, Number 5
Table of Contents


Practice Management Announces First Innovations Award Winner

The AUA Practice Management Committee is pleased to announce the recipient of the first annual PMN Innovations Award to Angela Jordan, CMPE, administrator for Bend Urology Associates, LLC in Bend, Oregon. The Innovation Award honors a PMN subscriber and his/her practice that achieves measurable improvements in efficiency of operations, cost reductions, practice revenue, staff morale, staff competency or patient service. Ms. Jordan submitted a summary of the Bend Urology Access Clinic. The Access Clinic was created to manage a large number of patients who walked in with urine specimens and concerns about urinary tract infections.

Jordan reported that from 100-to-150 patients per month were bringing in specimens or calling in to be added to the daily schedules. The Access Clinic is in a separate part of their urology office and is staffed by a Physician Assistant (PA) and some of the existing practice staff. The PA sees some other regular patients and the patients coming for lab tests are also directed to the Access Clinic which keeps the staff occupied on slower walk-in days. In her submission, Jordan said, “We have better symptom information, the patient satisfaction overall is much higher, dealing directly with staff than over the phone and treatment is usually a full day sooner because there is better information gathered instead of playing phone tag to find out after the fact. We have gathered the correct pharmacy information from seeing the patient face to face and now we are able to capture an office visit along with all the U/A (urinalysis) only charges.” Ms. Jordan will receive a distinctive crystal desk tower, inscribed with the year of the Innovations Award and her name.

Participation in the Innovations Award program is limited to active subscribers to the AUA Practice Managers’ Network. Submissions for the award may be written by practice managers, physicians or a team of both. Submissions for the 2014 PMN Innovations Award will be accepted beginning October 1, 2013.