Home Education AUAUniversity For Residents Volunteer Opportunities Residents and Fellows Committee The AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award

AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award

The AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award annually recognizes an outstanding urology educator or program director who has dedicated a portion of his/her career to teaching residents.

2020 Teaching Award Winner

Congratulations to Laurence H. Belkoff, DO, MSc, FACOS, Director of the Urologic Surgery Residency Program for Main Line Health in Philadelphia, and recipient of the 2020 AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award!

In 2019, Dr. Belkoff championed an appeal that led the ACGME to create a new pathway, allowing his formerly orphaned Hahnemann University Hospital Urology Program to apply as a new program. He is Managing Partner of the UCSEPA division of MidLantic Urology and Director of the Clinical Research Division. Dr. Belkoff's additional roles include Professor/Chairman of the Department of Specialty Surgeries Division of Urology at Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, Professor and Clinical Pathway Director at Drexel University College of Medicine, ACGME Urology Review Committee member, and past President of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons (ACOS). He has received several awards including the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Philadelphia Business Journal and the Orel F. Martin Medal for Lifetime Achievement from ACOS.

Dr. Belkoff was nominated by Dr. Daniel C. Edwards, Chief Resident at Main Line Health Urology.

"As a physician, teacher, businessman and innovator, [Dr. Belkoff] lives his life by two main tenets: always say yes (take advantage of your opportunities) and never take no for an answer (strive for what you believe). After three decades involved in resident education, he manages to continue to pour energy into his role day after day with an unrelenting passion. He won't settle until he knows that the opportunities his residents are given are second to none." - Daniel C. Edwards, DO, Chief Resident, Main Line Health Urology


Any urology program director and/or urology faculty participating in resident education as part of an ACGME urology program, who has demonstrated a commitment to education in the following ways is eligible to be nominated:

  • Participation as a program director of and/or faculty member in an ACGME accredited urology residency program.
  • Evidence of dedication and effectiveness in teaching residents.
  • Behaviors which are value-based and highly principled.
  • An exemplary role model.

Check back in Fall 2020 for 2021 nomination guidelines.

Questions? Contact Amanda Burns at or (410) 689-4044. 

Past Year Winners

Click here to see a list of past Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award winners. 



Join Our Email List!

Sign up to receive information from the American Urological Association!

Stay Informed