Home Education AUAUniversity The AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award

AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award

The AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award annually recognizes an outstanding urology educator or program director who has dedicated a portion of their career to teaching residents.

Kate Kraft, MD, FAAP, FACS – 2021 Teaching Award Winner

Residency Program Director and Associate Professor
University of Michigan

“Through her personal teaching style, the implementation of app-based feedback at Michigan Medicine and beyond; and numerous virtual grand rounds like the recent UCSF 'Teaching How to Teach: Surgical Education in Urology Residency,' she has proven herself the ultimate teacher.”
– Juan Andino, MD, MBA
PGY-4 University of Michigan

“Dr. Kraft is a compassionate educational leader. When our residents need help, unquestionably and without reservation she is the first person they go to – this defines her as a leader. She is open, caring, fair and supportive. Dr. Kraft is highly collaborative and interacts exceedingly well with all of our faculty. With over 55 full-time faculty, this is no small feat. She truly is a pleasure to work with and has our full confidence as our Program Director. Indeed, we consider ourselves lucky to work with her.”
– Ganesh S. Palapattu, MD, FACS, FRCS, and Brent K. Hollenbeck, MD
Chair and Vice-Chair, University of Michigan Department of Urology

Dr. Kate H. Kraft is Associate Professor in the University of Michigan Department of Urology and practices pediatric urology. Her clinical interests include minimally invasive surgery and endourology in children. Dr. Kraft is the urology Residency Program Director at the University of Michigan, the inaugural recipient of the American Urological Association/Urology Care Foundation Physician Scientist Residency Training Award. She is PI for the multi-institutional SIMPLUR trial, assessing readiness for practice in urology residency training. Dr. Kraft currently serves on the University of Michigan Graduate Medical Education Committee, the American College of Surgeons Women in Surgery Committee, the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Review Committee for Urology, and the American Board of Urology Examination Committee.


Eligible nominees must meet the following requirements:

  • Participation as a program director of and/or faculty member in an ACGME accredited urology residency program.
  • Evidence of dedication and effectiveness in teaching residents.
  • Behaviors which are value-based and highly principled.
  • An exemplary role model.

Winners are presented with their award during the annual Residents Forum program at the AUA Annual Meeting.

If you have questions or would like more information, please contact Camille Chilcoat at

Past Year Winners

Click  here to see a list of past Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award winners. 



Join Our Email List!

Sign up to receive information from the American Urological Association!

Stay Informed