From the Chief Executive Officer: AUA Welcomes New Board Members

By: Michael T. Sheppard, CPA, CAE | Posted on: 01 Nov 2021

I recently had the privilege of welcoming several new members to the AUA Board of Directors. These individuals bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to their positions, and I look forward to working with each of them, as well as the entire Board, as we continue to advance urology, provide invaluable support to the urological community and further the mission of the AUA. And while I am always honored to welcome incoming Board members, I am equally grateful to acknowledge our outgoing Board members for their dedication, commitment and esteemed service.

I would like to thank our outgoing Board members, Drs. Ann Gormley, David Green, Barry Kogan and John Lynch, for their many contributions and years of service to the AUA.

Dr. Ann Gormley
Dr. David Green
Dr. Barry Kogan
Dr. John Lynch

I am pleased to recognize the following Board members.

Dr. Raju Thomas is a pioneer in urology and continues his distinguished career within the specialty as our 2021–2022 AUA President. A member of the AUA for nearly 4 decades, Dr. Thomas assumed his role having served as President-elect for more than a year. Prior to this, he served on the Board of Directors for the Urology Care Foundation and previously held the position of President of the AUA Southeastern Section. He has served as an AUA Leadership Program mentor and was recognized with the 2016 AUA Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding leadership as the Chair of Urology at Tulane University following the devastation of Hurricane Katrina, as well as for his humanitarian service to individuals in underserved populations. Dr. Thomas is the Chair of the Department of Urology at Tulane University Medical Center in New Orleans, Louisiana and holds the position of Professor of Urology, as well as the Residency Program Director for the Department.

Dr. Edward M. Messing is Professor of Urology and Oncology at the University of Rochester and is President-elect of the AUA. Dr. Messing previously served as President of the AUA Northeastern Section, as well as President of the Society of Urologic Oncology (SUO). A member of the AUA since 1984, Dr. Messing was awarded an AUA Presidential Citation in 2013 for his outstanding contributions to bladder cancer research and for his exceptional service as an educator; the SUO medal in 2016 for his contributions in the field of urologic oncology; the distinguished AUA Ramon Guiteras Award in 2018 for his more than 35 years of outstanding contributions to the art and science of urology, specifically urologic oncology; and the SUO’s 2020 Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Messing will assume the role of AUA President in May 2022.

Dr. Scott K. Swanson completed his Presidential term (President-elect and President) at the 2021 AUA Annual Meeting and currently serves as Immediate Past President. He is a consultant in the Department of Urology at Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale and was the first urologist on staff when Mayo Clinic opened in Arizona in 1987. He is also an Associate Professor of Urology at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science and was the first chair of the urology department. Dr. Swanson served in the U.S. Air Force for 16 years before serving in numerous leadership positions for the AUA, including President of the Western Section and as an Executive Board member. Thank you Dr. Swanson for your continued support and service to the urological community, as well as your leadership “in a year like no other.”

Dr. Thomas F. Stringer is Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Urology at the University of Florida in Gainesville and also serves as Associate Chairman of Philanthropy and Alumni Affairs. A member of the AUA since 1984, Dr. Stringer assumed the role of AUA Treasurer after having served as Treasurer-elect for more than a year. Prior to that, he served as the Board’s Southeastern Section Representative and is a past President of both the Southeastern Section and the Florida Urological Society. He has served on the AUA’s Finance, Bylaws and Investment Committees and was Chair of the AUA Compensation Committee.

Dr. Arthur Tarantino joins the Board as the AUA New England Section Representative. Dr. Tarantino is senior urologist in the Hartford Healthcare Medical Group, Tallwood Urologic and Kidney Institute, Hartford Hospital. He is also Assistant Clinical Professor of Surgery at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine. A member of the AUA since 1990, Dr. Tarantino is past President of the AUA Northeastern Section, as well as the Connecticut State Urology Society. He has served on several AUA Committees including past Chair of the State Advocacy Committee. Welcome Dr. Tarantino.

I am also pleased to welcome Dr. Hassan Razvi to the Board as the AUA Northeastern Section Representative. Dr. Razvi is Professor of Urology at Western University in London, Ontario, Canada. He is also an Associate Scientist in the Clinical Research Division of the Lawson Health Research Institute. He has been involved in several important and impactful Endourology-focused initiatives including 2 Société Internationale d’Urologie-International Consultation on Urologic Disease stone disease panels. A member of the AUA since 1998, Dr. Razvi is past President of the AUA Northeastern Section and is President-elect of the Canadian Urological Association.

Visit our website ( for more information about the AUA Board of Directors.

Top 300x250:
Bottom 300x250: