2020 - 2022 Research Scholars

Headshot photo of Jose Agudelo, MD

Jose Agudelo, MD

Project Title: “The Role of Biofilm Activity in the Formation of Calcium-Based Urinary Stones”
Institution: Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Mentors: Aaron Miller, PhD and Manoj Monga, MD
Sponsor: Endourological Society

Headshot photo of Himanshu Arora, PhD

Himanshu Arora, PhD

Project Title: “Immune Modulatory Functions and Mechanism of Action of Nitric Oxide in Castration Resistant Prostate Cancer Microenvironment”
Institution: University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine
Mentors: Joshua Hare, MD, Dipen Parekh, MD and Bonnie B. Blomberg, PhD
Sponsor: AUA Southeastern Section

Headshot photo of Joseph Crivelli, MD

Joseph Crivelli, MD

Project Title: “Ascorbic Acid Intake and Oxalate Production”
Institution: University of Alabama at Birmingham
Mentors: Dean Assimos, MD and Ross Holmes, PhD
Sponsor: Endourological Society Raju Thomas, MD Research Scholar Award

Headshot photo of Diya Binoy Joseph, PhD

Diya Binoy Joseph, PhD

Project Title: “The Role of Novel Urethral Cell Types in Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia”
Institution: UT Southwestern Medical Center
Mentors: Douglas Strand, PhD, Linda Baker, MD and Claus Roehrborn, MD
Sponsor: Indian American Urological Association Sakti Das, MD Research Scholar Award

Headshot photo of Evgeniy Kreydin, MD

Evgeniy Kreydin, MD

Project Title: “The Effect of Spinal Neuromodulation on Lower Urinary Tract Symptoms and Micturition-Associated Brain Activity After Stroke”
Institution: University of Southern California
Mentors: V. Reggie Edgerton, PhD, David A. Ginsberg, MD and Kay Jann, PhD
Sponsor: Society of Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine & Urogenital Reconstruction Hari Badlani Research Scholar Award

Headshot photo of Anirban Kundu, PhD

Anirban Kundu, PhD

Project Title: “Characterization of SEMA5B Mediated Oncogenic Signaling in Renal Cell Carcinoma”
Institution: University of Alabama at Birmingham
Mentors: Sunil Sudarshan, MD and Pran Datta, PhD
Sponsor: AUA Southeastern Section

Headshot photo of Matthew Martin, PhD

Matthew Martin, PhD

Project Title: “Using Microbial Exposure to Study the Immune Response to UTI and Urosepsis”
Institution: University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Mentor: Thomas Griffith, PhD
Sponsor: AUA North Central Section

Headshot photo of Nicolas Montalbetti, PhD

Nicolas Montalbetti, PhD

Project Title: “Mechanisms Underlying Bladder-Mediated Pain in a Mouse Model of Urinary Tract Infection”
Institution: University of Pittsburgh
Mentors: Marcelo Carattino, PhD and Gerard Apodaca, PhD
Sponsor: AUA Northeastern Section

Headshot photo of Jagpreet Singh Nanda, PhD

Jagpreet Singh Nanda, PhD

Project Title: “Nuclear Factor I/B (NFIB) Drives Enzalutamide Resistance in Castration Resistant Prostate Cancer”
Institution: Case Western Reserve University
Mentors: Magdalena Grabowska, PhD, Scott Dehm, PhD and Lee Ponsky, MD
Sponsor: Indian American Urological Association Anupam Ted Kedia Research Scholar Award

Headshot photo of Srikanth Perike, PhD

Srikanth Perike, PhD

Project Title: “Role of MEIS Proteins as HOXB13-Dependent Inhibitors of Prostate Cancer Metastasis and Androgen Receptor Signaling”
Institution: University of Illinois - Chicago
Mentors: Donald J. Vander Griend, PhD, Larisa Nonn, PhD, Alan M. Diamond, PhD and Gail Prins, PhD
Sponsor: Chesapeake Urology Associates Sanford J. Siegel, MD Prostate Cancer Research Award

Headshot photo of Chen Qian, PhD

Chen Qian, PhD

Project Title: “Targeting ONECUT2: Differential Routes to Metastasis in mCRPC”
Institution: Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Mentors: Michael Freeman, PhD, Beatrice Knudsen, MD, PhD and Lily Wu, MD, PhD
Sponsor: Society of Urologic Oncology

Headshot photo of Morgan E. Roberts, PhD

Morgan E. Roberts, PhD

Project Title: “The Role of IL-10 and N-Glycan Branching in Regulating CD8 T Cells in Muscle-Invasive Bladder Cancer”
Institution: University of British Columbia
Mentor: Peter Black, MD
Sponsor: Bristol-Meyers Squibb

Headshot photo of Renea Sturm, MD

Renea Sturm, MD

Project Title: “Bio-inspired Urethral Design: Scaffold Creation and Evaluation”
Institution: University of California Los Angeles
Mentors: Nasim Annabi, PhD, Ali Khademhosseini, PhD and Isla Garraway, MD, PhD
Sponsor: AUA Western Section

Join Our Email List!

Sign up to receive information from the American Urological Association!

Stay Informed