American Urological Association - Research Scholar Awards


Home Research Research Funding AUA Funding Research Scholar Awards

Research Scholar Awards

The AUA offers a portfolio of mentored research training awards to recruit outstanding young investigators into urologic research and foster their career success.

The Research Scholar Program, our premier funding opportunity, provides $40,000 per year for one- and two-year mentored training for:

  • Clinical and postdoctoral fellows who are no more than five years beyond completing a doctorate or residency
  • Early career investigators who are in the first five years after beginning a faculty position

The 2019 Research Scholar Award competition is now closed. Please check back in summer 2019 for next year's competition.

Download the 2019 Program Announcement and Application Agreement forms:

2019 Research Scholar Award Program Announcement [pdf]
2019 Research Scholar Award Application Agreement [pdf]

Nineteen Research Scholar Awards are available for 2019, sponsored by:

  • AUA Mid-Atlantic Section (one award)
  • AUA New England Section (one award)
  • AUA Northeastern Section (two awards)
  • AUA South Central Section (two awards)
  • AUA Southeastern Section (two awards)
  • AUA Western Section (one award)
  • Endourological Society Raju Thomas, MD (one award)
  • Endo Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (one award)
  • Genentech, Inc. (one award)
  • Indian American Urological Society Sakti Das, MD (one award)
  • The Joseph Segura Scholarship in Endourology and Stone Management (one award)
  • Robert J. Krane, MD (one award)
  • Societies of Pediatric Urology Sushil Lacy, MD (one award)
  • Society for Urologic Oncology (two awards)
  • Society of Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine & Urogenital Reconstruction Hari Badlani (one award)

View the listing of our recent Research Scholar Awards Recipients:
2018 - 20202018 - 2019, 2017 - 2019