Attention: Restrictions on use of AUA, AUAER, and UCF content in third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies, such as large language models and generative AI.
You are prohibited from using or uploading content you accessed through this website into external applications, bots, software, or websites, including those using artificial intelligence technologies and infrastructure, including deep learning, machine learning and large language models and generative AI.

AUA Advanced Practice Provider of the Year Award

The AUA Advanced Practice Provider (APP) of the Year Award was established by the 2019-2020 AUA APP Committee led by Chair, Tricia Zubert, APRN, CNP, to recognize the contributions and accomplishments of APPs in the field of urology. Since that time, the APP Committee selects a recipient to be honored with the award each year.

Vivian Williams, MSN, RN, CPNP

Vivian Williams, MSN, RN, CPNP

2024 Award Winner

Congratulations to Vivian Williams, MSN, RN, CPNP, who is an Advanced Practice Nurse III and a Director of Advanced Practice Nursing with the Department of Urology at Boston Children’s Hospital and has over 18 years of urology experience.  She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Medical Laboratory Science as well as Nursing, a Master’s of Science in Nursing, and is a Doctorate of Nursing Practice in Executive Leadership candidate for 2026 at Simmons University.  In addition to her participation and leadership in the Department of Urology’s clinical care practice, Vivian leads and co-created the Advanced Practice Clinician (APC) led newborn circumcision clinic which utilizes an interdisciplinary team approach to advancing care models. 

While direct clinical care and leadership comprises most of her practice as a NP, Vivian also has also a strong interest in clinical research, quality improvement and advancing the science of nursing practice to inform policy, improve patient access and outcomes, reduce costs and advance health equity by supporting nurses and NPs to practice to the full extent of their education and expertise. Her most recent areas of inquiry include newborn circumcision, enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS) pathways, judicious use of antibiotics, key stakeholders in Pediatric Urology, and Nurse Practitioner practice. She has completed a Boston Children’s Hospital Nursing Science Fellowship, has completed grant funded clinical studies, and disseminated her work internally and externally through podium, poster and video sessions at national conferences.  Additionally, Vivian has authored/co-authored multiple peer reviewed journal articles, and co-authored a book chapter focused on the development of an APC led clinic.

Vivian is also a recipient of the American Academy of Nursing Edge Runner Award in 2022 which recognizes innovative nurse led care models that transform health, underscoring the leadership, ingenuity, and determination of nurses.  Vivian is an executive board member of the nationwide organization the Pediatric Urology Nurses and Specialists Group, ACGME clinical faculty for the Department of Urology, and a Lean Six Sigma yellow belt member of the Department of Urology quality improvement team.

Ms. Williams will be presented her award during the the APP Program (Urologic Care for the Advanced Practice Provider) at AUA2024 in San Antonio, TX.

2025 APP of the Year nominations open in the Fall of 2024.


Any AUA APP member who has demonstrated a commitment to the field of urology in the following ways is eligible for nomination:

  • An AUA Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Member in good standing
  • Exemplifies strong leadership skills in the field of urology and provides outstanding patient care
  • Significantly contributes to the APP program at their respective Section/Society meeting and/or shows leadership in coordinating other APP activities/initiatives
  • Does not currently serve as a member of the AUA APP Committee

Winners receive a $1,000 stipend to attend the AUA Annual Meeting. The winner wil be presented with their award during the APP Program (Urologic Care for the Advanced Practice Provider).

Questions? Contact Jordan Malloy at

Past Year Winners


Kenneth A Mitchell, MPAS, PA-C,
Arkansas Urology


Department of Urology, University of Virginia


Mary Dunn, RN, MSN, OCN, NP-C
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Heather Schultz, NP
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill