AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award

The AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award annually recognizes an outstanding urology educator or program director who has dedicated a portion of their career to teaching residents.

2023 Teaching Award Winner

Martin A. Koyle, MD, MSc, MMgt, MBA (cert), FAAP, FACS, FRCS (Eng.), FRCSC

Adjunct Professor of Urology, University of Minnesota
Professor Emeritus of Surgery, University of Toronto

2023 Teaching Award Winner Martin A. Koyle, MD, MSc, MMgt, MBA (cert), FAAP, FACS, FRCS (Eng.), FRCSC

"The University of Minnesota residents had no clue that we would gain an incredible teacher and mentor when Dr. Koyle was hired. [He] has a knack for quickly identifying areas in need for improvement, both on the individual level with his trainees and systemically, but it’s his ability to inspire others to reach their potential in a kind, unassuming way that makes Dr. Koyle a special mentor."
– Jacob Albersheim, MD
PGY-5 Urology Resident, University of Minnesota

"Dr. Koyle’s teaching and mentoring activities are extremely impactful and exemplary. Despite being a “part-time” faculty member, his impact on our department has been tremendous. Since arriving [in 2021], Dr. Koyle has completely and enthusiastically immersed himself into teaching our residents and students. In addition, I have witnessed how Dr. Koyle keeps in touch with former fellows and residents and continues to mentor them long after they have completed their training with him. His care for the development of others is not only effective, but consistent, evident across institutions, and thus genuine."
– Christopher A. Warlick, MD, PhD
Associate Professor and Chairman, University of Minnesota Department of Urology

Dr. Martin A. Koyle is Professor Emeritus of Surgery at the University of Toronto, where he held the Women’s Auxiliary Endowed Chair in Pediatric Urology and Regenerative Medicine, while serving as Division Head of Pediatric Urology at the Hospital for Sick Children. He is also a faculty member at the Desautels Faculty of Management at McGill University in Montreal where he is actively involved in the International Masters in Health Leadership (IMHL) and the Graduate Certificate in Healthcare Management (GCHM) programs. In 2021, Dr. Koyle was appointed as Adjunct Professor at the University of Minnesota School of Medicine, Department of Urology in Minneapolis.

During his more than 3 1/2 decades in practice he has contributed over 300 manuscripts to the peer-reviewed literature in addition to more than 100 published chapters. With a deep interest in global health, he has volunteered considerable time to numerous medical missions across the globe. He has served and continues to serve on numerous editorial boards and is currently Associate Editor for the Journal of Pediatric Urology. He has been Visiting Professor at 32 North American residency and fellowship programs, and internationally at the British Association of Urological Surgeons (BAUS), the Urological Association of Australia and New Zealand (USANZ), the Philippine Urological Society and the Taiwan Urological Society. Aside from serving or having served on various committees within the American Academy of Pediatrics and American College of Surgeons, Dr. Koyle taught for almost a decade at the American Urological Association (AUA) Annual Board Review Course, and most recently has been on the AUA Quality Improvement and Patient Safety (QIPS) Committee and AUA Education Council.

Dr. Koyle was nominated for the 2023 AUA Teaching Award by resident physicians Jacob Albersheim, MD (University of Minnesota), Brent Cleveland, MD (University of Minnesota) and Jin Kyu (Justin) Kim, MD (University of Toronto).


Eligible nominees must meet the following requirements:

  • Participation as a program director of and/or faculty member in an accredited urology residency program within AUA Section boundaries.
  • Evidence of dedication and effectiveness in teaching residents.
  • Behaviors which are value-based and highly principled.
  • An exemplary role model.

Winners are presented with their award during the Residents Forum program at the AUA Annual Meeting.

The Teaching Award nomination cycle is now closed. Please check back in Fall 2023 for the 2024 submission guidelines.

Questions? Contact Amanda Burns at or 410-689-4044.

Past Year Winners

See a list of past Resident and Fellows Committee Teaching Award winners