Attention: Restrictions on use of AUA, AUAER, and UCF content in third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies, such as large language models and generative AI.
You are prohibited from using or uploading content you accessed through this website into external applications, bots, software, or websites, including those using artificial intelligence technologies and infrastructure, including deep learning, machine learning and large language models and generative AI.

Meet the 2006 – 2007 Mentors

Roger R. Dmochowski, MD, MMHC, FACS

Roger R. Dmochowski, MD, MMHC, FACS

Distinguished Service Award

For outstanding leadership in the Specialty of Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstruction, and for development of AUA Guidelines.

Brendan M. Fox, MD

Brendan M. Fox, MD

Dr. Fox is a senior faculty member and Clinical Professor of Urology at the University of Connecticut Health Center, Division of Urology/Department of Surgery. He served as President of the AUA from 2004 to 2005, AUA Historian from 1997 to 2002 and President of the New England Section of the AUA from 1982 to 1983. He also served on numerous AUA committees and has held various offices in the Connecticut Chapter of the American College of Surgeons and the Hartford County Medical Association. Dr. Fox is the recipient of the Hartford Medical Association's Distinguished Service Medal and the New England Section of the AUA's Joseph B. Dowd Lifetime Achievement Award. He has been a member of the AUA since 1972.

Sushil S. Lacy, MD

Dr. Sushil Lacy is currently Senior Consultant in Surgery (Urology) at University of Nebraska Medical Center. He recently retired after 35 years of Clinical Practice. He received his medical degree from Christian Medical College, Vellore, in India. He completed his general surgery residency and Board certification at King George's Medical College, in Lucknow, India, Vascular Surgery Fellowship at Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina and Urology Residency training at Bowman Gray School of Medicine, Wake Forest University, in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. His main Clinical interest has been in Pediatric Urology and research interests in Urinary tract infections and incontinence. He has served on the American Urological Association Board of Directors, Urology Care Foundation Development Council and several AUA committees and also American Association of Clinical Urologists Board of Directors. He has held the office of President of the American Association of Clinical Urologists, South Central Section of the AUA and Nebraska Urological Association. He is Past President of the American Urological Association and has been a member of AUA since 1971.

Anthony J. Schaeffer, MD

Dr. Schaeffer has been professor and chairman of the Department of Urology at Northwestern University since 1990. He is chair of the AUA Research Council and former chair of the AUA Program Committee, as well as a member of The Journal of Urology Research Board. He was awarded a National Institutes of Health Merit Award Grant to continue research on urinary tract infections. He is currently Chair of the National Institutes of Health Multi-Site Collaborative Research Project on male chronic pelvic pain syndrome (prostatitis) and contributes regularly to international panels to establish guidelines for management of urinary tract infections. Dr. Schaeffer has been a member of the AUA since 1980.

Paul F. Schellhammer, MD

Dr. Schellhammer is a Professor of Urology, a partner in Devine-Tidewater Urology, Ltd. He is internationally recognized for his expertise in the treatment of prostate cancer. He joined the EVMS faculty in 1974 and served as chairman of the Department of Urology from early 1990 until July of 2000. Dr. Schellhammer is President-Elect of the AUA Board of Directors, the AUA Awards Committee and the AUA Program Committee, in addition to having served on numerous other committees. Dr. Schellhammer has been a member of the AUA since 1977.

Steven M. Schlossberg, MD

Dr. Schlossberg is the current Treasurer of the American Urological Association's Board of Directors. He is also a Vice President and Chief Medical Officer for Impact Advisors, a consulting firm specializing in Healthcare Information Technology. Previously, he was the Chief Medical Information Officer for the Yale New Haven Health System and the Yale School of Medicine. Prior to joining Yale, he was Professor of Urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School, and Vice President, Clinical Operations for Sentara Medical Group in Norfolk Virginia. He graduated from Cornell Medical School and trained at New York Hospital and Eastern Virginia Medical School. Dr. Schlossberg received the Outstanding Academic Achievement Award from the College of William and Mary Executive Master of Business Administration Program in 1998. After training with Drs. Devine and Horton in Norfolk, he spent 25 years practicing reconstructive Urology. Dr. Schlossberg has recently completed serving as Chair of Health Policy for the AUA. He has also served the AUA as the first Chair of the Practice Management Committee, Vice Chair of Health Policy and as AUA alternate to the AMA Relative Update Committee. He has served the Mid-Atlantic Section of the AUA as a Board member and representative to the Health Policy Council. In addition, he currently serves as a mentor for the AUA Leadership Program. Dr. Schlossberg has been a member of the AUA since 1987.