Home Advocacy Get Involved Scholar & Fellowship Programs Gallagher Health Policy Scholar Program

Gallagher Health Policy Scholar Program

Applicants must be AUA member urologists who have demonstrated a commitment to or have a keen interest in the field of health policy and who are dedicated to advancing urology's health policy agenda

Scholars will spend up to 30 days away from their practice for intensive training on a wide range of health policy issues. Training includes mentoring from seasoned physician volunteers, participation in key meetings and conferences, and participation in public policy activities as outlined by the Public Policy Council. A stipend of $15,000 and reimbursement for travel and other expenses will be provided over the course of the year-long program. For more information, email

Apply Now

About The Scholarship


In 2007, the AUA Board of Directors approved the launch of this annual scholar program in honor of former executive director, G. James Gallagher. The Gallagher Health Policy Scholar Program hopes to attract those urologists who have demonstrated a commitment to or have a keen interest in the field of health policy and who are dedicated to advancing urology's health policy agenda.

Current Gallagher Scholar

Elizabeth Timbrook Brown, MD

Elizabeth Timbrook "Brook" Brown, MD

Assistant Professor of Urology, Georgetown University School of Medicine
Associate Residency Program Director, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital

Dr. Elizabeth Timbrook "Brook" Brown specializes in the medical and surgical management of urinary incontinence, voiding dysfunction, neurourology and urodynamics, and pelvic floor reconstruction in both men and women. She understands many patients suffer silently from incontinence and pelvic floor disorders, but treatments are currently available that can significantly improve a patient's quality of life. Dr. Brown offers a patient-centered approach to care, knowing the best treatment may not be the same for everyone. She discusses all appropriate treatments with her patients and together they decide on the best management option.

Along with multiple research grants and several awards for excellence in medical student and resident education, Dr. Brown has received scholarships to provide urologic care internationally. She's active in the editorial peer-review process for clinical journals and has published numerous manuscripts and book chapters in reconstructive urology. She is also an active board member for the Society of Women in Urology.

After receiving a Bachelor of Science degree from Tulane University in 2004, Dr. Brown completed her Master of Public Health in 2005, also at Tulane, with a concentration in health systems management. She earned her medical degree from the West Virginia University School of Medicine in 2009, and completed residency training in urology at Louisiana State University and Ochsner Clinic Foundation in New Orleans in 2014. Dr. Brown recently finished a urology fellowship in female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery at Vanderbilt University Medical Center prior to joining MedStar Georgetown.

Immediate Past Gallagher Scholar

James J. Jameson, MD

Jason J. Jameson, MD

Urologist, Mayo Clinic Arizona
Instructor of Urology

Dr. Jameson is an Instructor of Urology at the Mayo Clinic in Arizona.  He is a graduate of the University of Iowa College of Medicine and completed his residency at the University of Utah.  He is an active member of the American Urological Association, serving as the current chair of the Bylaws Committee and also serves on the Legislative Affairs Committee.  He is an alternate Board of Director for the Western Section AUA and serves on the Health Policy Committee.  As the current president of the Arizona Urologic Society and Board of Director for the Arizona Medical Association, he has worked with State Legislators advocating for urology telemedicine and testifying at committee hearings the past two years.  Men's Health has been a focus in his clinical activities, including developing the Men's Health Program at Mayo Clinic Arizona and speaking at national and international conferences.  His professional Men's Health activities include serving as the current Secretary/Treasurer of the American Society of Men's Health and the Chair of the Men's Health Committee for the Sexual Medicine Society of North America.  He is a member of the Government Relations Committee of Mayo Clinic Arizona.

Past Gallagher Scholars

2017 James Michael Dupree, IV, MD
2016 Thomas H. Rechtschaffen, MD, FACS
2015 Norm Smith, MD
2014 Timothy David Averch, MD, FACS
2013 Eugene Y. Rhee, MD, MBA
2012 Mark T. Edney, MD
2011 James C. Ulchaker, MD
2010 Christopher Gonzalez, MD, MBA
2009 Christopher Saigal, MD, MPH
2008 Quentin J. Clemens, MD, MSCI
2007 David F. Penson, MD, MPH