Attention: Restrictions on use of AUA, AUAER, and UCF content in third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies, such as large language models and generative AI.
You are prohibited from using or uploading content you accessed through this website into external applications, bots, software, or websites, including those using artificial intelligence technologies and infrastructure, including deep learning, machine learning and large language models and generative AI.

Meet the 2012 – 2013 Mentors

Richard K. Babayan, MD

Dr. Babayan is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology at Boston University School of Medicine and Chief of Urology at Boston Medical Center, where he directs the Prostate Center and GU Robotic Surgery. Dr. Babayan received his medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine and did his Urology Residency at Boston University Medical Center. He was an AUA Research Scholar at MIT and Boston University from 1980-1982. Dr. Babayan is a member of the Urological Survey Editorial Committee for the Journal of Urology and an assistant Editor for the Journal of Endourology. He has authored over 100 articles in the urologic literature. Dr. Babayan has been an active member of the both the AUA and the New England Section of the AUA and has served in various leadership positions, including a term as NE Section representative to the AUA Board of Directors. He also sits on the Board of the Massachusetts Association of Practicing Urologists. Dr Babayan received the Distinguished Service Award from the AUA in 2011.

William W. Bohnert, MD

William W. Bohnert, MD

Dr. Bohnert was in private practice since 1970 and was a senior member of Arizona Urology Specialists in Phoenix, AZ until retirement from clinical practice in July 2014. Dr. Bohnert received his MD degree in 1965 and completed his general surgery and urologic residency in 1970 at Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis, Indiana. He also served in the Indiana National Guard and the U.S. Army Reserve. Dr. Bohnert previously served on the AUA Board of Directors as the Western Section Representative from 1999 to 2003. He has served on the Practice Guidelines Committee and Guidelines Oversight Committee and is a mentor in the AUA leadership Program. Dr. Bohnert is the immediate Past President of the AUA, and has served on numerous committees at the AUA Western Section and as President from 1995-1996. Dr. Bohnert was the recipient of the 2010 Gold Cane Award for devotion to patient care and outstanding contributions to the AUA. He has also been on the Board of UROPAC and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Catholic Healthcare West Arizona. In addition, he has served on committees and boards of local, regional and national urologic and medical societies and foundations for more than three decades. Dr. Bohnert has been a member of the AUA since 1975.

Anton J. Bueschen, MD

Dr. Bueschen graduated from the University of Virginia, School of Medicine in 1965. He was a surgical intern and assistant resident in surgery at Vanderbilt University and then served in the US Army at Camp Zama Hospital, Japan. Dr. Bueschen completed a urology residency at Indiana University Medical Center. He was a member of the faculty at Tulane University Medical School prior to serving on the urology faculty at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) from 1973 through 2007. He was Director of the Division of Urology at UAB for 28 years. He also served as president of the University of Alabama Health Services Foundation (faculty practice organization). Dr. Bueschen has served as secretary and president of the Southeastern Section (SES) of the AUA, SES representative of the AUA Board of Directors, and president of the AUA. Dr. Bueschen has been a member of the AUA since 1974.

Sushil S. Lacy, MD

Dr. Sushil Lacy is currently Senior Consultant in Surgery (Urology) at University of Nebraska Medical Center. He recently retired after 35 years of Clinical Practice. He received his medical degree from Christian Medical College, Vellore, in India. He completed his general surgery residency and Board certification at King George's Medical College, in Lucknow, India, Vascular Surgery Fellowship at Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina and Urology Residency training at Bowman Gray School of Medicine, Wake Forest University, in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. His main Clinical interest has been in Pediatric Urology and research interests in Urinary tract infections and incontinence. He has served on the American Urological Association Board of Directors, Urology Care Foundation Development Council and several AUA committees and also American Association of Clinical Urologists Board of Directors. He has held the office of President of the American Association of Clinical Urologists, South Central Section of the AUA and Nebraska Urological Association. He is Past President of the American Urological Association and has been a member of AUA since 1971.

Lawrence S. Ross, MD

Dr. Ross is the Clarence C. Saelhof Professor Emeritus in the Department of Urology of the University of Illinois at Chicago where he served as Head of the Department from 1989 to 2006. Prior to joining the university he was Chairman of Urology at Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center. Dr. Ross has concentrated his academic interests in the area of male reproduction and microsurgery and has been published extensively in these areas. He serves as an editorial consultant to The Journal of Urology®, Urology, Fertility and Sterility and the Journal of Andrology. He has had numerous leadership roles in urology, having served as President of the Chicago and Illinois State Urological Societies, North Central Section, AUA, and President of the American Urological Association. Dr. Ross has been a member of the AUA since 1979.

Steven M. Schlossberg, MD

Dr. Schlossberg is the current Treasurer of the American Urological Association's Board of Directors. He is also a Vice President and Chief Medical Officer for Impact Advisors, a consulting firm specializing in Healthcare Information Technology. Previously, he was the Chief Medical Information Officer for the Yale New Haven Health System and the Yale School of Medicine. Prior to joining Yale, he was Professor of Urology at Eastern Virginia Medical School, and Vice President, Clinical Operations for Sentara Medical Group in Norfolk Virginia. He graduated from Cornell Medical School and trained at New York Hospital and Eastern Virginia Medical School. Dr. Schlossberg received the Outstanding Academic Achievement Award from the College of William and Mary Executive Master of Business Administration Program in 1998. After training with Drs. Devine and Horton in Norfolk, he spent 25 years practicing reconstructive Urology. Dr. Schlossberg has recently completed serving as Chair of Health Policy for the AUA. He has also served the AUA as the first Chair of the Practice Management Committee, Vice Chair of Health Policy and as AUA alternate to the AMA Relative Update Committee. He has served the Mid-Atlantic Section of the AUA as a Board member and representative to the Health Policy Council. In addition, he currently serves as a mentor for the AUA Leadership Program. Dr. Schlossberg has been a member of the AUA since 1987.