AUA Distinguished Awards

Each year, the American Urological Association (AUA) honors the contributions of physician researchers and educators to the field of medicine, the specialty of urology, and the AUA.

AUA Awards & Honors Program

Members involved in leadership and academic programs become active in the AUA Sections and gain prominence through involvement at the national level. The AUA Awards Program honors outstanding career contributions, recognizing excellence in urologic research and education as well as dedication, leadership and service to the Association.

View the Current Honorees  Award Definitions & Past Honorees

Nominations are accepted from July to September annually. The winners will be announced in December. Questions about the AUA Awards & Honors Program may be directed to

Health Science Award

The science and technology of healthcare advances every day; physicians take advantage of this constantly evolving inventory of drugs and devices to provide the best care for their patients.

The AUA Industry Relations Department facilitates the education of urologists on the latest innovations in urologic medicine by connecting industry with physicians—with the goal of providing urologists the tools to more effectively diagnose and treat urologic diseases. In this way, we create partnerships to support the AUA mission to "promote the highest standards of urological clinical care through education, research and in the formulation of health care policy."

History of AUA Health Science Awards

Secretary Commendations for Global Leadership

The AUA fosters close partnerships and friendships around the world. Each year the AUA recognizes key partners who have worked on AUA’s behalf in their country. The Secretary Commendation for Global Leadership is given out each year during a plenary session of the AUA Annual Meeting.

View the List of Honorees

Honorary Members

AUA Honorary Membership is presented to scientists who have achieved outstanding prominence in a field of medicine related to Urology, Officers of the Association, and/or distinguished urologists.

Questions about the AUA Honorary Members may be directed to

View the List of Honorees History of AUA Honorary Members