Home About Us AUA Governance Awards Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

Each year, the American Urological Association honors the contributions of physician researchers and educators to the field of medicine, the specialty of urology, and the AUA. Access the list of previous honorees.

Congratulations to the 2020 honorees!

Ramon Guiteras Award

William J. Catalona, MD
For outstanding leadership in demonstrating the value of PSA testing and surgical management of prostate cancer

Hugh Hampton Young Award

Stephen Y. Nakada, MD
For enduring leadership and pioneering studies of urolithiasis, minimally invasive surgery and renal preservation

Gold Cystoscope Award

Thomas Chi, MD
For outstanding research into the cause of urolithiasis and innovations in surgical techniques for kidney stone removal

Lifetime Achievement Award

William F. Gee, MD
For a lifetime of service advancing the goals and mission of the AUA

Victor A. Politano Award

Gopal H. Badlani, MD
For exemplary clinical, translational, and basic science research on the treatment of stress urinary incontinence

William P. Didusch Art & History Award

Michael E. Moran, MD
For extensive written contributions on urologic history and dedicated service as museum curator

Distinguished Contribution Award

Timothy D. Averch, MD
For contributions to AUA initiatives including quality improvement, simulation, e-learning and health policy

Distinguished Contribution Award

Lawrence S. Ross, MD
For contributions to the field of reproductive medicine and for many years of dedicated service to the AUA

Distinguished Contribution Award

J. Christian Winters, MD
For outstanding leadership and contributions to the field of incontinence and voiding dysfunction

Distinguished Service Award

Dean G. Assimos, MD
For voluminous, substantive contributions to the educational resources of the AUA

Distinguished Service Award

Manoj Monga, MD
For innovative and impactful service as AUA Secretary to the benefit of urologists and patients worldwide

Distinguished Service Award

Aaron Spitz, MD
For more than twelve years of outstanding service to the AMA and organized medicine on behalf of urology

Gold-Headed Cane Award

Daniel J. Culkin, MD
For tireless advocacy encouraging outreach to underserved rural populations and patients with spinal cord injuries

Presidential Citation

Jaime A. Cajigas, MD
For excellence in advancing AUA education, membership and collaborations with Sociedad Colombiana de Urología

Presidential Citation

Brendan M. Fox, MD
For leadership and outstanding contributions in advancing the AUA’s strategic goals

Presidential Citation

Stanley J. Kandzari, MD
For an outstanding career devoted to the education of urology residents

Presidential Citation

Carl A. Olsson, MD
For outstanding contributions as the inaugural editor of Urology Practice

Presidential Citation

Gail S. Prins, PhD
For leadership, determination and success in advancing the breadth of urologic research and advocacy

Presidential Citation

Kevin A. Wohlfort
For over 30 years of distinguished executive leadership and outstanding contributions in advancing AUA’s mission